Petite Ratatouille…So Grande!


This dish, so simple to make and so tasty, was a perfect way for me to use up my remaining zucchini and tomatoes from the previous week’s assortment of vegetables from my CSA. I always have a jar of Trader Joe’s kalamata olives in my pantry and with the only other ingredients being water, salt and pepper…tada! An amazingly colorful, flavorful and low calorie side dish that can be eaten hot or cold. I only baked it for an hour and 15 minutes at 300. The veggies were tender but not mushy, pleasing Barry, who does not approve of al dente vegetables. Served with a slice of crispy sourdough it was a meal in itself.

3 medium zucchini, about 1 1/4 pounds
12 ounces small cherry tomatoes: use a mixture of red and yellow if possible
16 kalamata olives, about 3 ounces

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
2. Wash zucchini and trim ends. Cut in half lengthwise. Cut into 1/2-inch-thick half circles. Place in a large bowl.
3. Wash cherry tomatoes and cut in half. Add to bowl. Add olives, pitting them if you wish, and mix thoroughly.
4. Pour 1/4 cup cold water over vegetables. Add a large pinch of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Mix again.
5. Place in a shallow 9-by-11-inch casserole. Bake for 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.
6. Transfer, with any juices, to a serving bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let cool. Serve at room temperature or serve cold.

Recipe by Rozanne Gold. Healthy 1-2-3

If you follow the link to Dr. Hoffman’s website and click on “Diet” in the menu, you’ll find a wealth of healthy recipes. That’s where I found this one and a whole lot more!

About Eat With A Spoon Goodness

I'm an artist: a graphic designer and photographer by trade and a cook at heart. I think, at some point in my life, the talents will converge and I will finally write and illustrate my own cookbook. I have a wonderful husband, Barry, and three great, all grown up, kids. I'm looking forward to learning new things, sharing ideas and information, and making new friends.
This entry was posted in Entrées, Sides and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment